Continent Read-a-thon Africa – Halftime

We are halfway through the first Continent Read-a-thon month and I thought I might do a little halftime summary of what has happened so far. If you want to catch up on what I was planning to read during this month you can look at my Africa TBR.

For my part, I haven’t read as much as I wished. I finished We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives by Lola Shoneyin, both of which I can only recommend. They are both wonderfully written. I have also been reading Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and I really like it so far. The writing is beautiful and the story is very interesting, but also heartbreaking at times and I think I felt a bit burnt out at some point last week, so I took a little break from this book and started The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien instead. But I am determined to not let Ifemelu and Obinze be overpowered by dwarves and elves and plan to continue Americanah today.

Many people seem to be reading Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for this read-a-thon. I have seen some reviews by group members pop up already. Here is Maddie’s (The Maddie Hatter) review:

Here you see Laura’s (mom2triplets04) review:

And here is Jasmin’s (TheBookJazz) review:

With everyone recommending this book I think this will have to be the next book by Adichie that I pick up 😉

Very fitting to this month’s theme of the Continent Read-a-thon it’s Black History Month and Didi from frenchiedee has introduced the #ReadSoulLit Photo Challenge where each day you have to choose or find a book fitting to that day’s theme. Here is her blogpost with a schedule and everything else you need to know. Didi also posts a Booktube Black History Month schedule for every week on her YouTube channel, so this is also a good chance to discover new booktubers! If you have aquired a taste for African literature through this read-a-thon, she and other participants in this challenge have a ton of suggestions what else there is to read! Definitely check her channel and the hashtag #ReadSoulLit out!

If you would like me to include or delete a link to your review/post/etc. in this post, you can reach me on Goodreads, Twitter and in the comments of this post of course. There is also an email adress under Contact. Also, please tell me if I butchered your name! >__<

Stay inky! – Lena

Leave a comment