Book Review: Mind Games by Kiersten White

Mind Games (Mind Games, #1)
Mind Games
Lena’s rating: 4 of 5 stars
Published: December 2013
Copy: Library


Fia and Annie are two sisters, both born with rare abilities. The younger Fia can trust her instincts 100 percent, the blind Annie has visions of the future. And these abilities have not remained unnoticed: Educated and imprisoned in a school that transformed Fia into a deadly assassin and Annie into a tracking device for her sister, they are made to work for the dubious purposes of the school. But Fia and Annie have wanted freedom for some time and they are trying to attain it without getting killed by the people they work for.

I was one of the people who read Kiersten White’s Paranormalcy trilogy and greatly enjoyed it, so I was very curious about her new series. And I have to say I have not been disappointed. Mind Games (aka Sister Assassin in the UK) is definitely different from Paranormalcy but it still wears Kiersten White’s touch. Do not expect any pink in this book. The characters are not as light hearted and funny as in Paranormalcy, but take a darker and more serious turn.

The narration of the novel came across as fragmented at first. Written from two POV’s (Annie and Fia), the story is not told in chronological order. The present plot line is again and again interrupted by flashbacks to the past. Nevertheless, the story is still fast paced. This style had me feeling somewhat clueless at the beginning. I was slowly piecing things together, until I had the feeling I had finally caught up with things around the middle. But no time to relax – the story picks up in pace from the middle on and all I could do was try not to get lost with all that is happening.

I must say I enjoyed this peculiar way of story telling. I found it to be very engaging because I was constantly reflecting on what I had just read. This book has much more to offer than meets the eye at first. Sure, the plot was suspenseful, action driven but what made me love this book was that I was compelled to mull it over afterwards.

Another aspect that I liked about this book was the romance/love interest. Yes, there is romance but it was not overbearing, soppy, ugh too much fairy poop, so if you are sick of too much romance in YA (as I am)- do not worry! It is not the main focus and actually adds an intriguing touch (and character).

All this being said, I will certainly read the sequel!

Mind Games (Mind Games, #1)


Find Lena on Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Mind Games by Kiersten White

    • Thanks for your comment 😀
      What a pity you weren’t that into Paranormalcy, but what can you do… Like I said in my post, Mind Games is also definitely Kiersten White. Somehow she has a distinctive writing style. So maybe it might be a good idea for you to read an excerpt of Mind Games before deciding if it is for you? Just so you don’t waste any money… >__<

      • Paranormalcy wasn’t bad, the writing was fine. I just couldn’t relate to Evie as a character. She was very girlie girl, haha. Also, it followed the same formula as all the other young adult books out there. But I’ll definitely try a sample beforehand of Mind Games before I decide to buy it 😀

Leave a Reply

