10 Series I Want To Finish in 2015

Anyone else have an unfinished series induced tbr legacy? I have been going through my unfinished series and sequels that are gathering dust on my tbr-mountain-of-doom recently. I picked out the ten series that I will attempt to finish this year, although I would love to finish an eleventh (the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu, to which I and the library unfortunately do not own any sequels). I feel like I am either miles behind in my reading (I mean, Delirium and Uglies for example are pretty old news) or right up to speed (or ahead muahaha, see the Silver trilogy by Kerstin Gier), no middle ground there. Oh well. MAY OUR TBRS SHRINK!
As always you can click on the book covers and it’ll take you to the Goodreads page of that particular book.

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4) 1) The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
I have read the first three books (Cinder, Scarlet, Cress), preordered Fairest (#0.1) and I will also get Winter, the last book, as soon as it is published at the end of this year. I just can’t wait to see how this wraps up.

2) The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
I read The Raven Boys, The Dream Thieves and Blue Lily, Lily Blue last year, so only book #4 remains. The question remains if the last book will really be published this year. If so, I will preorder it immediately and inhale it as soon as I get my hands on it!

Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2) Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3) 3) The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo
I borrowed Shadow and Bone (#1) from my library last year. Although I was bored by yet another romance, I want to know what happens aside from that. Also, I hear book #2 has pirates AND I WANT PIRATES! Luckily the library has the sequels so muahaha you shall be mine, although this will also totally not reduce my tbr.

Pandemonium (Delirium, #2) Requiem (Delirium, #3) 4) Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver
Also a library pick from last year, I bought Pandemonium (#2) right after reading Delirium. Fun story, I only picked this up after seeing the Pilot of the TV series, which didn’t get picked up, because I liked that a lot. Before that, I had always given this series a wide berth because people said things about its style that didn’t sound appealing to me. Turns out I don’t know what people are talking about.

5) Silver Trilogy by Kerstin Gier
Read book #1, listened to book #2, will grab the last book from the library or the book shop when it gets out in German this summer. The first book is finally coming out in English as well in April. It will be called Dream a Little Dream (The Silver Trilogy). I don’t know how the translation will be, but going by the German original I suggest you grab this because it’s awesome! Also, I suggest you learn German because you wouldn’t have to wait for the sequels one year each then. Just saying, these books are addictive.

Shift (Silo, #2) Dust (Silo, #3) 6) Silo books by Hugh Howey
Read Wool (#1), enjoyed it a lot, have book #2 Shift standing on my shelves and the library has book #3 (Dust). This will happen. I plan to pick Shift up as soon as I am through with Dune Messiah (who knows when that’ll be. I get distracted too quickly at the moment). Shift will be kind of a prequel to the story of Wool and I am very excited for that!

Reached (Matched, #3) 7) Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie
I have read the first two books a while ago and had already started book #3 (Reached) but got bored by the detached narration. Many people dislike this trilogy and I think I understand why, although I never felt it was that bad. And the premise is actually quite interesting. This was one of the first trilogies I picked up, maybe I’m just being sentimental.

Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking, #3) 8) Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness
I read The Knife of Never Letting Go (#1) and The Ask and the Answer (#2) some time ago and had also started the last book, Monsters of Men, but somehow I find it hard to just go from book #2 to #3 – I always get burned out. So I put Monsters of Men aside for the time being. Apart from that you could murder someone with book #3 and that’s always daunting. The library and my kindle still have the end to this trilogy though, so I hope I can finally finish the series this year.

Extras (Uglies, #4) 9) The Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld
The library provided me with the first three books and by now I should probably leave it at three, because I have forgotten almost everything about this series. But I can’t just not finish a series like that, so Extras (#4), which is only kind of a sequel, has to happen. Also, I enjoyed this series so I’m actually looking forward to revisiting it with Extras.

The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings, #2) The Return of the King (The Lord of the Rings, #3) 10) Lord of The Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien
The last series. This will probably break me. I own all the books, they are beautiful, but they are so not marathonable. The Fellowship of the Ring took me months to get through (I read a lot on the side, because phew), so I’m doubtful I will really get through The Two Towers and The Return of the King this year. But I began to love the book 2/3 through. Who knows. All I know is I want to finish this! Probably doesn’t help that I watched the movies several times when I was younger. Although I remember next to nothing, except screaming dark figures and epicness.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who waits this long to read sequels and last books in good series.

Find Lena on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

