Lena’s January Wrap-Up

Unintentionally, my month was a bit dragon themed. I like that.
After having to correct the number of books on my TBR several times, I started my year with 142 unread books on my shelves and kindle – contrary to what I stated in my 2015 Reading Plans on 04 Jan. As of 31 Jan my TBR is: 136 books (yay for so far reading faster than I am buying books xD).

wrap up header 2

Overall, I read:

  • 2 plays for uni (Volpone, or the Fox by Ben Jonson and Roaring Girl by Thomas Dekker)

Both of these really suprised me. The plots were much more interesting than, I’m sorry to say, those of Shakespeare’s plays. It’s probably because Shakespeare has been done over and over again over time.

  • 4 children’s books (The Dragonsitter (review here), The Dragonsitter Takes Off and The Dragonsitter’s Castle all by Josh Lacey, and Three Pickled Herrings (Wings & Co #2) by Sally Gardner)

The Three Pickled Herrings (Wings & Co, #2)If you want something quick, cute and fun to read, maybe even with your kids, definitely give The Dragonsitter books a try. They are adorable. If you want more of a magical mystery feel series, I’d recommend Wings & Co. The second book in this series has bumped it up to one of my favourite series. I’ll definitely check out the sequels soon!

  • 2 audiobooks (Silver #2 by Kerstin Gier, and The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3) by Rick Riordan)

Silber: Das zweite Buch der Träume (Silber, #2)I listened to both of these in German on Spotify. With the Percy Jackson series, I think the German versions are my way to go. I just couldn’t bear the cheesy jokes in the English books and I don’t know if it just got better in book #3 or if the German made it less noticeable.
If you haven’t heard yet, Kerstin Gier’s new trilogy Silver will have its first book out in the US soon, called Dream A Little Dream and I highly recommend you read it, especially of you liked the Ruby Red trilogy! I’m very addicted once more.

  • 2 novellas (Life Before Legend by Marie Lu, and The Witch of Duva by Leigh Bardugo)

The Witch of Duva (The Grisha, #0.5) I highly recommend you read The Witch of Duva, even if you know nothing about the Grisha world, because it is only based very loosely on it anyway and is basically just a freakishly good fairytale (that you can read for free on the internet). But don’t expect sparkly princesses with this one. Think more original Grimm Brothers tales, creepy and disgusting.

  • 6 novels (The Giver by Lois Lowry, Attachments by Rainbow Rowell, Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson (review here), The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman, Dune Messiah by Frank Herbert, and Fairest by Marissa Meyer)

The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library #1)You should all go read The Invisible Library, especially if you need to take a break from the world for a bit. I can never sum it up appealingly so you better go to Goodreads for a synopsis. Just know, if you liked Harry Potter you will probably like this. And I don’t make that comparison lightly. But it definitely is a magical and fun adventure!


My favourite books of the month
by far were (including Goodreads links)

If you do the math you will notice that I read more books than my TBR shrunk by. Partially, that’s because of the library but I also totally bought books AND I REGRET NOTHING (and also I’ll be reading most of them next month, more about that tomorow). Have you read any of these books and what did you think about them? Has anyone already read The Invisible Library and wants to fangirl about it with me? Pretty please?

Find Lena on Goodreads

One thought on “Lena’s January Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman | Study in Ink

Leave a Reply

