Lena’s Continent Read-a-thon Africa TBR

February is the first month in Jasmin’s (TheBookJazz) Continent Read-a-thon, that she is holding on Goodreads. This month’s reading continent is Africa and tadaa: I indeed had one whole book on my TBR from someone who was born in Africa, and that someone coincidentally is white. So, not quite what I was looking for here. I started looking and found some books that really intrigued me. Voila~
Continent February TBR 2
In fact, I couldn’t hold back anymore and started reading Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie on the bus as soon as I got it from the library. I really like how the writing flows. I found some more books that I would like to read at some point but I am pretty sure that I won’t be able to stuff into this month’s reading.

The books shown in the picture are the following. Just click on the link to get to the Goodreads synopses.

I decided to only go with books by authors who – as far as I could tell – were born in Africa, thus leaving out writing by authors who are second-generation migrants. That’s one of the hard things in this read-a-thon, I found: distinguishing between these two groups, although it’s probably ridiculous to distinguish between these groups at all.

But of course, the experiences that are described differ for these two groups (or so I think, because how would I know never having read something by an author who was born in Africa =__=”). I have read some Black British writing (Zadie Smith, basically) and the “typical” migratory themes of hybridity and identity were very prominent in her writing. But be aware that that’s all I’m going by here in my comparisons. That is why I am expecting different themes in the books I chose though. Let’s see if I’m right. I’m basically a blank page when it comes to anything related to Africa. I probably sound really stupid, because essentially I have no idea what I’m talking about.

So that’s it, this is where I start. Maybe I’ll be less clueless after this month?

Continent February TBR
If you would like to participate in the Continent Read-a-thon, you can join any time! Or if you would just like to stalk what is going on you can search for #continentreads on twitter (and probably instagram). If you want to enlighten me on anything I might have gotten wrong just now, please feel free to do so. It can only get better xD

Happy reading in February!

Find Lena on Goodreads

One thought on “Lena’s Continent Read-a-thon Africa TBR

  1. Pingback: Continent Read-a-thon Africa – Halftime | Study in Ink

Leave a Reply

