5 Classics I Want To Read in 2015

Several classics have gathered on my shelves (and Kindle, mainly) over the years and the more I read, the more new ones I find that I want to read. But while I shovel them all on my Kindle (because they are freeee), there are few that I am as intent on to read as these. These are the classics I want to get to soon. Links will bring you to Goodreads.

  1. Animal FarmAnimal Farm by George Orwell
    It’s an open secret that I like speculative fiction, dystopias and the like. I read 1984 pretty early on in my dystopia-reading and liked it, although some parts were a bit tedious to get through. Since then I have been curious about Animal Farm.
  2. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
    From day one of my English major days, professors have name-dropped this book again and again, without ever making it required reading. Such psychology always works really well on me, that’s how I got to read Jane Eyre. Robinson Crusoe never sounded appealing to me, but now that I have read various English classics, a few weeks ago I read the beginning and realised: I’m there. I’m interested in reading this. This sounds fabulous!
  3. Dracula by Bram Stoker
    Lots of name-dropping again. But in itself pretty self explanatory, one should think. I proofread a paper on this so I think I should actually read the book now that I’m already aware of some of the themes.
  4. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
    I still can’t accept how boring I find Dickens books, and this one is a pretty well-known one, often read around Christmas, and I want to be of the party this year! It might not be the perfect choice for my next Dickens but secretly I have decided to read all his books, even if I don’t enjoy them, so the order I read them in probably won’t matter too much.
  5. Love and Freindship: And Other Youthful Writings by Jane Austen

    Love and Freindship: And Other Youthful WritingsI love Jane Austen, I’m not announcing that for the first time. I have made my love for her known to my family and they got me this wonderful clothbound volume for Christmas. I hear intriguing things about her earlier writings, and of course, Lady Susan as part of these earlier writings, pretty much blew me away, so I’m tingling with anticipation for what might be in store for me.


BONUS: How to Cook Husbands by Elizabeth Strong Worthington

Come on. That title alone.

Do you have any classics to recommend to me? I’m always open for more of the good stuff. Any Dickens you think is a good start?

Find Lena on Goodreads

7 thoughts on “5 Classics I Want To Read in 2015

  1. Animal Farm is one of my favourite classics, so I really hope that you’ll get to read it this year! Read Robinson Crusoe years ago, but didn’t think it was anything special – a bit too “white man Renaissance genius” for my tastes. But it did inspire a lot of other classical writers, so there’s that 🙂

  2. Pingback: March TBR 2015 | Study in Ink

  3. Excepting Animal Farm,I think these are some very heavy classics!
    I prefer,by far,the more modern ones – the books written at the end of the 19th century and onwards.

    • Yes, it usually takes me some time to get through the older classics, especially since they are often so big, but I like the accomplishment I feel after finishing them. Haha
      If you have any recommendations for more modern classics I’d be happy to hear them. I think I might have read some, but there must be so much more out there that’s interesting! 😀

      • Oh,I’d recommend books like The Picture of Gray,Labyrinths,Lord of the Flies or The Trial.You also have post-modern classics The God of Small Things and The Unbearable Lightness of Being.

        I’d also recommend Anna Karenina,a sublime novel,but one has to be ready before tackling it.Well there’s too many books to recommend!! 🙂

      • Ooh, but those are wonderful recommendations and I actually have some of them here (I think at least) -The Picture of Dorian Gray, Lord of the Flies, The God of Small Things and Anna Karenina (actually started that one two years ago and really liked it but the siiize). Thank you! It would be cool if I got to these this year.

Leave a Reply

