A required reading filled #FridayReads…

Haven’t done one of these in a while although I actually quite like them. It’s Friday and this means: time for reading! In my case, I am swarmed with books for university, although I probably feel like that because I’m having difficulty concentrating at the moment x__x

The first book I will continue to read this weekend is Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen *happy sigh* This is for a class on Victorian Novels and Modern Adaptations that I am taking voluntarily BECAUSE THEY ARE READING MY FAVOURITE BOOKS! I love Austen and I enjoy reading classics, especially from the Victorian period, more with each novel I inhale (although it is a slow inhale considering how long classics take me). I am contemplating writing my BA thesis about Austen’s books, actually, because what better way to enjoy writing a thesis than to fangirl about your beloved classics?

Another book that is actually a priority is The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga. This is for a class on Cosmopolitanism that is proving to be a lot more fun than I had anticipated, although I am still dreading some of the bricks we will read (try reading Jane Eyre and Cloud Atlas in the course of one week and you will know my pain. I might have to drop the voluntary class *sob*). So far I am around 50 pages in and enjoying it quite a lot. I can definitely see why our prof chose this novel for our class. Oh, and The White Tiger also wonderfully coincides with the Asia theme of the Continent Read-a-thon! Hehe

What will you be reading over the weekend? Also, should I become a pirate and only read classics for the rest on my life?

Thank you for reading! Stay inky, Lena

Leave a Reply

